Forums Archived

The forums are being archived. See this topic for more information.

I am completely lost

Get help and support with Rubygame

I am completely lost

Postby HOMER-16 » Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:06 am

I wan't to get rubygames and I got the one-click installer for windows. I need to know what to do from here in *plain english* :D . I have ruby installed on my flash drive. Like the title says, I am completely lost!
HOMER-16
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:02 am

Re: I am completely lost

Postby jacius » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:24 pm

Hi, have you seen the Windows Installation Guide yet? If not, please give that a try, and let us know if you have any trouble with it. :)
User avatar
jacius
Site Admin
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: I am completely lost

Postby HOMER-16 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:30 pm

I did that, I installed the gem (or at least I think I did) put the .dll files in the correct folder and so on. But I've seen some tutorials on that that say's that a menu or something should pop up and you choose which .gemspec to use depending upon the OS. I don't get that... :( . But if it's nothing to worry about then how do I run it?
HOMER-16
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:02 am

Re: I am completely lost

Postby jacius » Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:58 pm

In Rubygame 2.6.0 and later, there is only one Rubygame gem, which works on all OSes. So that's not a problem.

To try out Rubygame, you could download the samples, or try running this simple script, which will open a Rubygame window, draw a white circle in it, then close after 5 seconds:

Code: Select all
require 'rubygems'
require 'rubygame'
screen = Rubygame::Screen.open([640,480])
screen.draw_circle_s( [200,100], 50, :white )
screen.update()
sleep 5
User avatar
jacius
Site Admin
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: I am completely lost

Postby HOMER-16 » Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:46 pm

I finally figured it out. All I had to do was unpackage it. But now it can't find any of the SDL stuff.

I loaded the .DLL files into the system32 folder as per instructions but.
HOMER-16
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:02 am

Re: I am completely lost

Postby jacius » Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:27 am

HOMER-16 wrote:I finally figured it out. All I had to do was unpackage it. But now it can't find any of the SDL stuff.

I loaded the .DLL files into the system32 folder as per instructions but.

What are the error messages?
User avatar
jacius
Site Admin
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: I am completely lost

Postby HOMER-16 » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:34 pm

Warning: Could not load SDL_gfx! Continuing anyway....
also
no such file to load: ruby-sdl-ffi/gfx

SDL_gfx is actually the only one with the problem. I found the problem to the others.
HOMER-16
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:02 am


Return to Help & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron