Forums Archived

The forums are being archived. See this topic for more information.

Introductions (Say hello!)

Discussion about anything related to Rubygame

Introductions (Say hello!)

Postby jacius » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:08 pm

Hello! This is the thread for introducing yourself to the Rubygame community!

Tell us about yourself, your interests, what you'd like to use Rubygame for, and so on. :)

I'll start:

My name is John Croisant, aka jacius. I'm the creator of Rubygame. :D I'm both an artist and a programmer. On the art side, I do mostly digital 2D and 3D stuff. I use all open source software, mainly Gimp, Inkscape, and Blender. I have an AAS degree in 3D computer animation. On the programming side, I love Ruby (of course), but I also use C, C++ (not by choice, ugh), LSL (Second Life's scripting language), shell script, Emacs lisp, and occasionally PHP, Python, and Javascript.

I'm especially interested in ambient music and mellow games like flOw, Aether, and Eufloria. My dream is to create a sound/music toy similar to Electroplankton. But in a bizarre twist of fate, I spend more time writing and maintaining Rubygame than I do actually using it to make games. :lol:

I'm always happy to help people learn and use Rubygame!

Now... it's your turn! Say hello. :)
jacius
Site Admin

Re: Introductions (Say hello!)

Postby shawn42 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:13 pm

Well hello there John.

My name is Shawn Anderson aka shawn42.

I have a BS in computer programming and love working in Ruby. I also spend a fair amount of work-time in Java-land, but have done work in most languages/platforms.

Thanks for creating Rubygame! I use it for creating little games here and there. I even wrote Jeopardy! in Rubygame using my Wii-mote for scoring!

I too spend more time on my framework Gamebox (built on top of Rubygame) than I do on writing actual games.... My goal is to create a game(s) that people play and enjoy. :D
shawn42

Postby smotchkkiss » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:24 am